Using a Fit Bit to lose weight

Ok, so March and April I gave up, I have gone through a difficult time at work and it has been hard to focus. This most certainly is not an easy journey, as life can get in the way.  I turned 45 in April and really need to get to an optimum weight and maintain before the aging hormones start kicking in even more.  The good news is I have not gained the weight I lost initially and have lost an extra 1lb.

For my birthday I got a Fit Bit HR Charge 2, this has given me a renewed push as the calorie counting was not working.  With all the stats from the Fit Bit it has given me a clear picture of why my weight loss halted.

I currently have to walk 12,000 steps a day to burn 2,200 calories, so to lose 2lbs a week I need to be in a 1,000 calorie deficit each day. This puts it in perspective, as it will take a fair bit of effort to achieve.  It means I can eat 1200 calories a day and have to put in extra work, to hit a 2lb a week weight loss target, which is now a necessity as my summer holiday is in 10 weeks, so I could potentially lose 20lbs, if I manage to keep it up.  If I have a night out or am invited to a BBQ I will need to make sure I move more to compensate, as weekends are the trickiest.

I am also trying to up my protein intake as it fills you up more, and  I am having a more balanced approach to Macro Nutrients (Carbs, Protein, Fat) as I often found my protein intake goes low when I am not planning what to eat.

I am 10 Stone 13lbs (9lbs lighter than when I started this blog), a comfortable size 14 (UK) and am 5ft 3inches. To be in a healthy BMI I need to be under 10 Stone 4lbs. So 9lbs loss gets me to healthy, which would be a good start.  My Fit Bit also monitors my heart rate and my cardio fitness level is good – very good, with an average resting heart rate of 65bpm.

My target weight for Saturday 15th July is 9 Stone 8lbs, I plan to continue walking a lot on  my holiday sight seeing so I should easily be able to continue as is manageable.  I used to be 8 Stone 7lbs prior to children, but I will need to build in some age adjustment to a being a healthy weight.

 

Leave a Reply

