Do you lose weight if you eat more protein?

This week I have been discussing with colleagues at work who are training for a body building Expo about how much protein should I be eating, and does it make a difference with weight loss?

I was recommended that as a female with a sedentary job I should eat 0.5 grams of protein per pound that I weigh each day, so I am 155 lbs this equates to a requirement of 77 grams of protein a day.

I am going to try this this week, I have set my macro nutrients in My Fitness Pal at:

  • 75 grams of Protien 25%
  • 105 grams of Carbohydrates 35%
  • 53 grams of Fat 40%

The percentage bit is what I may need to play around with as my fat intake is quite high, though I must add I have been eating lots of healthy fats and only butter and no marg.

I have logged everything I ate in the few weeks in My Fitness Pal and these are the Marco nutrients averaged for each week commencing:

Week 1: Saturday 7 January 2017 = 56 g Protein, 106g Carbs, 77g Fat, Av daily calories 1375
Weight loss 3lbs  Exercise 60 mins

Week 2: Saturday 14 January 2017 = 42g Protein, 131g Carbs, 55g Fat, Av daily calories 1176
Weight loss 1lb  Exercise 60 mins

Week 3: Saturday 21 January 2017 = 40 g Protein, 124g Carbs,  59g Fat, Av daily calories 1300
Weight loss 0lb Exercise 20 mins

Week 4: Saturday 28 January 2017 = 41 g Protein, 124g Carbs,  63g Fat, Av daily calories 1223
Weight loss 1lb Exercise 48 mins

I know I am getting a bit nerdy but trying to understand what works for me to lose weight as I think it is a personal thing. But interestingly I lost the most weight 3lbs in week 1 (I had lost 2lbs in the 3 days before that, which I have not recorded here). What is odd about this is does it prove that cutting calories does not necessarily work as this is the week that I ate the most calories, but had the highest protein and fat intake but lower carbs?

‘Food for thought’ as they say, I am going to set my macro nutrients as the settings I laid out above for this week and see what happens. It is my own little scientific experiment. (Please note I am not a professional at this I am just trying to work out what works for me).

Leave a Reply

