A month of life style change – 7lb loss

Whoop whoop I have lost 7lbs in my first month of low carb, counting calories mainly Monday to Friday with a few carbs thrown in at the weekend. My target weight was 152lb and I am 155lb, so maybe my 2lb a week target was a bit extreme, but hey 3lbs off target and a 7lb loss is not too bad.

I have started the ‘Running made easy ‘ programme this week, back at the beginning of 5k training (which is horrific thinking I ran a half marathon only 4 years ago) but starting out easy and in short bursts is a good idea as I a not training with a friend so need to motivate myself. This week I have been out in the dark, in cold weather and just to make it worse it has rained every day. I have done Saturday, Monday and Wednesday, Friday was gales and rain so I missed it, so will have to add an extra run tomorrow. Getting ready to head out in a minute for my first run this week, I have made myself a timetable and stuck it on the fridge to tick off as I go along here is a rough schedule:

Saturday – Intervals of run/walk
Monday – Intervals of run/walk & if not too hungry for dinner 10 minutes of circuits
Wednesday – Intervals of run/walk
Friday – Personal training session

To be honest I find week days easy as I am in a routine with planning my food and going to work, it is the weekends that I fall down. Something else I have noticed this week is my husband makes me fat!!!!

This week he had come home from work with a Cadbury chocolate rabbit (ok this was tiny), a box of Maltesers and a huge bar of Cadbury’s Milk Chocolate and flowers last night. I don’t mean to sound ungrateful but he needs to buy me less chocolate and more flowers. I have a house full of teenagers tonight and the huge bar of chocolate (that has not been opened) may have to go to them or it will torment me all week!  I did allow myself some of the other treats, but I would not have had them if he had not brought them into the house.

I am going to review my next target that I will aim to hit it on Saturday 4th March (4 weeks from today) to 6lb loss (an average of 1.5 lbs per week, any more will be a bonus) with a target weight of 149lb (10 Stone 9lbs, back to my summer 2016 weight). Yay to break the 10 Stone bracket. I need to remind myself that this is not a diet, it is a lifestyle change for food and exercise to get in optimum health. They go hand in hand, and crash dieting with out exercise leads to muscle loss which is not a good idea in your 40’s, as you get older muscle mass is an important factor to keep you mobile and active in old age.  The annoying thing about this is there is no quick fix, and while you are exercising the scales to not give the full picture as toning and inch loss will have a huge part to play, also muscle weighs more than fat. What I want to avoid is being slim and saggy, so ‘Slow and Steady’ however annoying needs to be my moto.

#babysteps  #newme  #weightloss  #getfit  #notreats   #Iamnotanexpert  #healthyliving  #balanceddiet

Leave a Reply

