Why did I not make homemade soup before?

On my quest to be healthy I purchased a Soup maker, it has sat on the kitchen side for 2 weeks until I dusted it off and made a soup.

I can now categorically speaking say that there is no going back I made the most delicious homemade Butternut Squash and Coriander soup yesterday. You can freeze it in portions, or pop in the fridge and reheat, so perfect for work if you have a microwave to warm it at lunch time (which only takes 2 minutes per portion).  I plugged the fresh ingredients in to My Fitness Pal and it works out at 168 calories per portion. The recipes below makes 6 portions:

Homemade Organic Butternut Squash & Coriander Soup

1 organic Butternut Squash, peeled, deseeded and diced
1 medium organic onion
10g Coriander
1 tsp ground Cumin
2 tbsp Olive Oil
3 organic garlic cloves
1 tsp grated fresh ginger
200ml organic coconut milk
800ml organic vegetable stock (2 cubes)
pinch of salt and pepper

  1. Add the Olive oil to a pan and sauted the Butternut squash for 4 minutes.
  2. Add onion, garlic and cumin and cook for further 5 minutes.
  3. Add all the ingredients to the soup maker and cook for 28 minutes.
  4. Blend to preferred consistency.

My soup maker sautes too, so less washing up for me!  I made this into 6 portions and it is really yummy.

butternut-soup

As I do feel like the odd slice of bread, I am going to also dust off the bread maker and get some organic wholemeal flour to make fresh bread to go with my soup on my calorie counting days. My PT said to me if you are going to eat bread fresh home made is best, rolls are a good plan as can freeze them easily in the portion size you want.

Leave a Reply

