Day one of my new year weight loss and fitness journey

Every new year we all say I want to lose weight and get fit. I seem to dip in and out of it, 8 weeks seeing a personal trainer this summer, got to September and all went wrong. So here I am again it’s a new year, so what better time to start on the new me!

Interestingly my husband keeps saying to me don’t tell anyone you are trying to lose weight just do it!!!  Well that clearly hasn’t worked so I am going against his advice! Sorry hubby.

I started by making the decision I needed to do something over new year, though due to social engagements I did not put anything into action until Tuesday 3rd January, which was my first day back at work. What I  did managed to do over the Christmas break was the first step to making this a success, I made a plan.

1. Plan my menu for the week and do an online order with all the fresh ingredients.  Then I will prepare my breakfast, lunch and snacks for work the night before, as I tend do grab a cup of tea and go in the morning by the time I have got the kids organised and off to school.  I can tell you that Tuesday to Friday has been a success for my healthy diet plan, and I have stuck to it.

2. Research and think about my dietary habits and what I have tried and tested before, that I have not found sustainable and why I have struggled. Ok one part was busy lifestyle and not organising my shopping, but the other was trying to do a too restrictive diet, like clean eating or green smoothies.

3. Decide on what I think will work for me. I am going to try something new that I think will be achievable, my own rough version of ‘CARB CYCLING’ I think this is the term. I am going to eat a low carb diet (basically no bread, pasta, rice, cereal, oats) Monday to Friday and then Saturday and Sunday I am going to allow myself a meal with carbs on each day.

Follow my blog to see how I get on, it is Saturday today and I can tell you that from Tuesday to Friday this week I have lost 2lbs. So a promising start.

About me

A bit of history about me, I never gained weight as a child or in my 20’s and was always a size 8 and weighed about 120 lbs.  I had my first child at 31 years old and have never got my weight below 130 lbs since, in fact I sat at 136 lbs naturally until I hit 39 years old.  Today I weight 160 lbs and am a comfortable size 14!!!  I am now 44 years old, so I am not expecting to be a size 8 again, but I think I should be able to get to a size 10, does that sound familiar?

I have a long journey ahead of me my target weight is 126 lbs, that is a total loss of 34lbs, eeekkkkkkk!  What I am going to do is break it down into smaller manageable chunks my first goal is below:

1. To hit 152 lbs (10 Stone 12 lbs, this equates to 2lbs per week weight loss and it should be easy as I was 10 Stone 9lbs summer 2016) in 4 weeks – Saturday 4th February.

This will be a challenge as I work full time and help my husband with his business and ferry around 2 children, but I am up for it!  So lets get started, I will post some yummy recipes, and the type of meals I am eating as I go along.  Plus when I get into ‘Getting Fit Mode’ I will include an exercise regime.

This is my inspiration! Ok maybe not that realistic at 44 years, but here are a couple of pictures of me today and when I was a size 8.

blog-post-1P                   lisaslim

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

